July 12, 2011

  • Another Go!

    I have decided to write as much as I can.  I used to love to write… and so I will begin again.  I am a busy home school mom of now 5 children.  My oldest begins Community College in the fall.
    So, here is a run down on my very different and unique bunch of kids that I love sooooo much!

    Josiah is the oldest.  Currently 17, he thinks he has all the answers but didn’t we all at that age.     He would like to become a policeman.   Becoming a police officer is a bit different than some jobs.  Here in Kansas City you have to be 21 to ‘apply’ for the job.  After you application is accepted you will begin the Academy.  I have heard that roughly 50% if those applicants graduate.  Having some sort of education after high school helps in pay, promotions etc.  Josiah currently believes he hates school… wants nothing to do with it.  My hubby and I have strongly encouraged him to go to school.  He has, as of yesterday, decided that he would like to become an EMT.  This will officially begin next Spring.  So, this semester he will take the necessary Anatomy and Physiology class and hopefully an English Composition class as well.  I believe from down deep that he is a good man struggling to find out who he is and where his place is in this world.  This often comes with head butting  with his parents.  I am excited to see what God has planned for my oldest son’s life!

    Son number two is Nate and he just turned 16..  His middle name is Isaac which means ‘laughter’.  He with out a doubt exemplifies his name and then some!  Always wanting to make others laugh, he is the next up and coming Christian comedian.  Well, maybe… Nate is an accomplished trumpeter and my current ‘stupid smart’ child.  School has always come easy for him.  That is why he will be done with his High School journey at 16.  I have no idea where he got his genes…    This year being his last he will be faced with decisions about college and majors.  He has been asked to play in William Jewell College’s orchestra for the year… a pretty big honor to play at only 16. 

    Zachary, who is 14,  is my third born,  a very gifted musical and artistic son.  He has his sights set on become an aeronautical engineer.  He is currently saving his mowing money to get his pilot’s license in the next two years.  He is content to draw aircraft, spaceships, and hover crafts on his 3 dimensional computer program his dad got or play the piano trying to conquer yet another piano piece he has found.  Playing the bass guitar in church is also one of he talents.  We bought a used bass a year ago and he has taught himself how to play… like I said, gifted and the skies the limit!

    My ‘little Doug’ is Levi.  He is 6′ tall and 13.  His shoe size is a 12.5.  He looks and acts just like his daddy… and they are great pals.  Whenever Doug needs a helping hand Levi is always right there ready to help.  He was driving our tractor at the age of 9 and did it splendidly!  He is our in-house drum player.  At first I was not sure if the child even had rhythm… but his instructor is amazing because my boy is a bonafide drummer!  George is his best friend and our family chocolate lab/golden retriever mix.  Levi is not sure what he wants to do with his life… but he is extremely gifted in math and loves working with his hands.

    Joy Louise is my 12 year old daughter going on 21.  She is turning into a beautiful young lady.  This year she has tackled one of the hardest instruments to play, the violin.  We have committed to taking lessons for a year and then see how we feel about it at that time.  She enjoys swimming and reading.  She want to become a doctor some day… we will see if she carries that into high school when the classes get a bit harder!   Joy is looking forward to babysitting in the very near future.  Her love for children is great!  Maybe a pediatrician??

    Emma  Beth is my baby girl.  She will be turning 11 in just a couple of weeks.  She was Molly Malloy in a play this summer and in my humble opinion stole the show, quite the drama queen!  She loves being with friends, reading and swimming.    She will begin piano lessons again with our pastor’s wife this week.  I have always thought she had much music talent and ability.    I am hoping that she will blossom and charge ahead… maybe even pick up the guitar! 

    Last but not least is my dear hubby, Doug.  He has been my anchor, steadfast and even keel.  I cannot imagine life with out him.  We have definitely had our bumps and pot holes and even major storms, but God is faithful to keep us together in the midst of all that!  He has been an amazing daddy since the very beginning… changing diapers, cleaning up puke, going to the playground, washing dishes, cleaning house… I could go on!  He has prayed with all of our children before they go to bed almost every night.  He has been through cancer and Grave’s disease and he is only 39.  What an amazing man I have!!
     

    So this is us!  My family, we are.  So far from perfect but waking up every day and trying again to do that which is good and acceptable in the sight of the Lord.   
    I think now you will have a better understanding of whom I will be talking about with their descriptions readily available.

    That is enough for today… I am hoping to write at least weekly and keep a blog going about me and my family!

    Blessings to all of you!!



Comments (3)

  • May I suggest, my dear one, that you delete your last name?  There can be some wierdo’s out there and I’d hate for one to find out where you live and send you mail!

    Good post BTW! 

  • @betheelou - Done… Sheesh, I know better… still trying to figure out how to have music playing when people read my post… been at it for about 2 hours.  :)

  • Do you have an account with http://www.playlist.com?

    You could message me your xanga password and your playlist password and I’ll set it up for you.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *